Faculty Directory

Download a full list (PDF) of Faculty Research, Scholarship & Clinical Interests.

Select by first letter of last name:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
A
Ms. Dawn Allen

Dawn Allen, MSN, ARNP, FNP-BC
Instructor & Clinical Placement Coordinator
Dawn.Allen@ucf.edu
407-823-4940
Office: UTWR 449 (UCF, Research Park)

Dr. Kelly Allred

Kelly Allred, PhD, RN-BC, CNE
Coordinator, Basic & Accelerated BSN Programs
Assistant Professor

Kelly.Allred@ucf.edu
407-823-0160
Office: UTWR 455 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Acute pain management and the effectiveness of nursing interventions in various clinical settings (e.g., orthopedics, pediatrics) to manage pain, including nonpharmacologic interventions to enhance traditional pain management; Interactive gaming and simulation as an educational intervention to improve pain assessment and management.

Dr. Diane Andrews

Diane R. Andrews, PhD, RN
Associate Professor;
Coordinator, Nursing Leadership & Mgmt MSN;
Coordinator, Executive DNP
Diane.Andrews@ucf.edu
407-823-3084
Office: UTWR 464 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Nurse satisfaction and retention in the workplace, including environmental and worker analysis, with a special focus on transition of new nurses.

Dr. Karen Aroian

Karen Aroian, PhD, RN, FAAN
Chatlos Foundation Endowed Chair & Professor
Karen.Aroian@ucf.edu
407-823-4290
Office: UTWR 434 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Immigrant and minority health across the lifespan (children, adults, elders), including self-care, health care utilization, parenting, and stress and adaptation; Qualitative and mixed method research designs; Instrument development for non-English speaking and culturally diverse populations.

B
Dr. Chris Blackwell

Christopher W. Blackwell, PhD,
ARNP, ANP-BC, AGACNP-BC, CNE

Associate Professor;
Faculty Liaison, UCF Nursing Alumni Chapter

Christopher.Blackwell@ucf.edu
407-823-2517
Office: UTWR 453 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Health risk and provider attitudes towards people who are gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgendered, including HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted infections, anorectal cancer, substance abuse, mental health, workplace discrimination, and social inequity.

Dr. Joyce Burr

Joyce Burr, PhD, RN, AHN-BC
Lecturer
Joyce.Burr@ucf.edu
321-433-7857
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg 3, Ste 333
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Nurses’ coping and adaptation to workplace stress; Holistic nursing and human biofield therapies.

Dr. Angeline Bushy

Angeline Bushy, PhD, RN, FAAN, PHCNS-BC
Bert Fish Eminent Scholar Endowed Chair;
Professor

Angeline.Bushy@ucf.edu
386-506-4032
Office: UCF Daytona campus, Bldg 140, Ste 208
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Rural healthcare/nursing issues; Community/public health nursing; Cultural/linguistic competence; Qualitative research methodologies.

C
Dr. Susan Chase

Susan K. Chase, EdD, FNP-BC, FNAP
Associate Dean & Professor, Graduate Affairs;
Coordinator, Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing
Susan.Chase@ucf.edu
407-823-3079
Office: UTWR 326 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Decision making by nurses, patients and families; Faith-based nursing; Managing chronic illness, Evaluating educational technology; Qualitative research designs.

Dr. Norma Conner

Norma E. Conner, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
Norma.Conner@ucf.edu
407-823-2630
Office: UTWR 433 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Hospice use among Blacks; End-of-life decision making and caregiving in informal caregivers; Health services use; Spirituality.
Languages: English; German.

Dr. Maureen Covelli

Maureen M. Covelli, PhD, RN
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Affairs;
Associate Professor

Maureen.Covelli@ucf.edu
407-823-4941
Office: UTWR 317 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Hypertension, including physiological and behavioral risk factors, the influence of birth weight on dysregulation of the cardiovascular system and development of adult hypertension, cardiovascular health promotion intervention programs to decrease hypertension risk in adolescents; Physiological measurements (e.g., salivary cortisol).

D
Dr. Leslee D'Amato-Kubiet

Leslee A. D'Amato-Kubiet, PhD, ARNP
Lecturer & Site Coordinator, UCF Daytona Nursing
Leslee.Damato-Kubiet@ucf.edu
386-506-4067
Office: UCF Daytona campus, D140, Ste. 309
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Obesity, genetics and genomics; How technology influences nursing practice; Women’s health; Rural Health.

Dr. Jon Decker

Jon Decker, PhD, ARNP, FNP-BC
Assistant Professor
Jonathan.Decker@ucf.edu
407-823-2696
Office: UTWR 426 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Childhood obesity and parents/caregivers of overweight children; Measurement.

photo unavailable

Joyce DeGennaro, MSN, RN
Visiting Instructor
Joyce.DeGennaro@ucf.edu
407-823-0105
Office: UTWR 458 (UCF, Research Park)

Dr. Paul Desmarais

Paul Desmarais, PhD, RN, CCRN
Lecturer
Paul.Desmarais@ucf.edu
407-823-2868
Office: UTWR 444 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Cardiovascular disease and cardiac rehabilitation.

Ms. Kim Dever

Kimberly Dever, MSN, RN-BC
Instructor;
Faculty Assistant Consultant, Student Nurses Association, UCF Orlando Chapter

Kimberly.Dever@ucf.edu
407-823-2632
Office: UTWR 463 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Child/adolescent anxiety disorders; Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD); Homelessness and vulnerable populations; Facial nerve pain.

Ms. Debra DiChiara

Debra J. DiChiara, MSN, RN
Instructor;
Faculty Assistant Consultant, Student Nurses Association, UCF Daytona Chapter

Debra.DiChiara@ucf.edu
386-506-4044
Office: UCF Daytona campus, Bldg 140,
Ste 308F
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Cardiovascular disease, including patient and family education and health promotion; Critical care.

photo unavailable

Joyce Dorner, MSN, RN
Visiting Instructor
Joyce.Dorner@ucf.edu
407-823-2329
Office: UTWR 425 (UCF, Research Park)

Ms. Krisann Draves

Krisann Draves, DNP, ARNP, CPNP-PC
Lecturer;
Faculty Consultant, Student Nurses Association, UCF Cocoa Chapter

Krisann.Draves@ucf.edu
321-433-7862
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg 3, Ste 333
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Primary and acute care of children, including asthma, health promotion and illness/injury prevention.

E

No "E" listing

F
Dr. Lori Forlaw

Loretta “Lori” Forlaw, PhD, RN, FACHE
Clinical Assistant Professor
Loretta.Forlaw@ucf.edu
407-823-5234
Office: UTWR 424 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Resilience, including genomics/health promoting genes, in active duty personnel, veterans, and leaders in clinical settings; Traditional Chinese medicine approaches to weight management; Feng Shui in healthcare environments.

G
Dr. Linda Gibson-Young

Linda Gibson-Young, PhD, ARNP
Assistant Professor;
Coordinator, Nurse Practitioner Programs

Linda.Gibson-Young@ucf.edu
407-823-1055
Office: UTWR 489 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Chronic childhood conditions, including family management of childhood asthma; Maternal caregiving; Smoking cessation; School-based interventions; Promoting evidence-based practice in novice nurses.

Dr. Laura Gonzalez

Laura Gonzalez, PhD, ARNP, CNE
Assistant Professor
Laura.Gonzalez@ucf.edu
407-823-3372
Office: UTWR 432 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Pedagogy, including teaching minority students and simulation for training and translation to clinical settings; Health disparities; Qualitative research methods.
Languages: English; Spanish.

H
Dr. Stephen Heglund

Stephen D. Heglund, PhD, ARNP
Lecturer
Stephen.Heglund@ucf.edu
321-433-7858
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg 3, Ste 333
Download full curriculum vitae

Coordinator, RN to BSN/MSN & Concurrent programs
407-823-1170
Office hours vary. Call or email first.
Office: UTWR 317 (Research Park, Orlando)



Interests: Innovation in nursing education and practice, particularly in emergency care.

Dr. Linda Hennig

Linda M. Hennig, EdD, RN
Assistant Professor
Linda.Hennig@ucf.edu
407-823-5848
Office: UTWR 487 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Rehabilitation nursing; Preventing musculoskeletal injuries in nurses; Application of technology to nursing education.

Ms. Peggy Hill

Peggy Hill, MSN, RN
Instructor
Peggy.Hill@ucf.edu
386-506-4012
Office: UCF Daytona campus

Dr. Julie Hinkle

Julie Hinkle, PhD, RN
Lecturer & Site Coordinator, UCF/Valencia College Concurrent Nursing Program
Julie.Hinkle@ucf.edu
407-582-5647
Fax: 407-582-5503
Office: UCF Valencia West (Bldg. 3, Room 140)

Interests: Stress and depression and their effects on learning; Online interventions; Simulation and technology in patient and student education.

Dr. Linda Howe

Linda Howe, PhD, RN, CNS, CNE
Associate Professor;
Faculty Consultant, Student Nurses Association, UCF Orlando Chapter

Linda.Howe@ucf.edu
407-823-5315
Office: UTWR 452 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Nursing and institutional history; Nursing education strategies; Deep tissue injury prevention and healing; Pharmacogenomics.
Languages: English; German.

Ms. Erica Hoyt

Erica Edgar Hoyt, MSN, RN, CNE
Associate Instructor;
Coordinator, Nursing Labs

Erica.Hoyt@ucf.edu
407-823-6459
Office: UTWR 614 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Emergency and flight nursing; Implementation of clinical simulation in nursing education; Community nursing.

I

No "I" listing

J

No "J" listing

K

No "K" listing

L
Dr. Jacqueline LaManna

Jacqueline LaManna, PhD, ARNP-BC,
ADM, CDE

Lecturer & Site Coordinator, UCF Cocoa Nursing
Jacqueline.LaManna@ucf.edu
321-433-7855
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg 3, Ste 333
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Diabetes care across the age span; Transitional care need of older adults and family caregivers.

Ms. Sarah Landreville

Sarah Landreville, MSN, RN-BC
Instructor
Sarah.Landreville@ucf.edu
386-506-4087
Office: UCF Daytona campus, D140-308C
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Mental and behavioral health in children and adolescents; Leadership and professional issues related to novice nurses; Diversity, personal bias, and awareness.

Ms. Patricia Leli

Patricia Leli, MSN, RN
Associate Instructor;
Coordinator, Undergraduate Clinical Education

Patricia.Leli@ucf.edu
407-823-2996
Office: UTWR 303 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Critical-thinking & clinical decision-making; NCLEX-RN preparation.

Dr. Jean Leuner

Jean D’Meza Leuner, PhD, RN, CNE, FAAN
Professor
Jean.Leuner@ucf.edu
407-823-2744
Office: UTWR 474 (UCF, Research Park)

Interests: Educational research and program evaluation; Critical thinking and diagnostic reasoning; Information fluency; Quality of life and chronic illness.

Dr. Victoria Loerzel

Victoria Loerzel, PhD, RN, OCN
Associate Professor;
Coordinator, Honors in the Major
Victoria.Loerzel@ucf.edu
407-823-0762
Office: UTWR 427 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Illness representation, symptom experience, and quality of life in older breast cancer survivors, including symptom management; Nursing student and lay population knowledge of ovarian cancer.

Ms. Linda Lopp

Linda Lopp, MSN/Ed, RN
Instructor
Linda.Lopp@ucf.edu
352-854-2322 x 1382
Office: UCF Ocala, University Center Bldg.
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Integration of interactive technology and creative teaching strategies in distance-learning education.

Ms. Geraldine Luzincourt

Geraldine Luzincourt, MSN, ARNP, FNP-C
Instructor;
Coordinator, Community Nursing Coalitions
Geraldine.Luzincourt@ucf.edu
407-823-4510
Office: UTWR 436 (UCF, Research Park)

Interests: Cultural influences on health promotion and end-of-life decisions; Family practice.
Languages: English; Haitian Creole.

M
Dr. Betty Mayer

Betty Wendt Mayer, PhD, ARNP
Lecturer;
Faculty Consultant, Student Nurses Association, UCF Daytona Chapter

Betty.Mayer@ucf.edu
386-506-4050
Office: UCF Daytona campus, D140-308B
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Interpersonal violence, including violence against healthcare workers, child abuse, animal abuse, domestic violence; Emergency nurse/ARNP training.

Ms. Hannah Morse

Anne “Hannah” Morse, MN, ARNP
Instructor
Anne.Morse@ucf.edu
407-823-5856
Office: UTWR 462 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Mental health and illness; Childhood abuse and neglect; Sexual assault examinations (SANE); Clinical trials in rheumatology.

N
Dr. Donna Neff

Donna Felber Neff, PhD, RN, FNAP
Associate Professor;
Interim Director of Nursing Research;
Coordinator, Nursing PhD Program
Donna.Neff@ucf.edu
407-823-5489
Office: UTWR 324

Interests: Nurse/patient outcomes and organizational factors; Partners with nurse researchers and clinicians in acute care settings to implement best practices based on evidence.

Ms. Charlotte Neubauer

Charlotte Neubauer, MSN/Ed, RN
Instructor
Charlotte.Neubauer@ucf.edu
321-433-7921
Office: UCF Cocoa campus, Bldg 3, Suite 333
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Women’s health, particularly cultural influences and pregnancy; Trauma nursing; Life support.

O

No "O" listing

P

No "P" listing

Q
Dr. Susan Quelly

Susan Quelly, PhD, RN, CNE
Assistant Professor
Susan.Quelly@ucf.edu
Tel: 407-823-0645
Office: UTWR 428

Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Childhood obesity prevention and intervention; School nursing; Teaching strategies in nursing education.

R
Ms. Susan Ricci

Susan Scott Ricci, MSN, M.Ed., ARNP
Instructor & Site Coordinator, UCF/Seminole State Altamonte Concurrent Nursing Program
Susan.Ricci@ucf.edu
Tel: 407-404-6088
Fax: 407-404-6210
Office: SSC, Altamonte campus, 426
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Women’s health, including childbearing throughout the life cycle and women’s rights (e.g., accessibility and equity of health services, violence against women).

Dr. Angela Ritten

Angela Ritten, DNP, ARNP, FNP-BC
Clinical Assistant Professor
Angela.Ritten@ucf.edu
Tel: 407-823-2625
Office: UTWR 419
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Obesity and diabetes type 2; Empowering people to take charge of their health; Independent clinical practice barriers for Florida ARNPs.

S
Dr. Mary Lou Sole

Mary Lou Sole, PhD, RN,
CCNS, CNL, FAAN, FCCM

Interim Dean;
Orlando Health Endowed Chair in Nursing;
UCF Pegasus Professor;
Coordinator, Clinical Nurse Leader MSN;
Coordinator, Clinical Nurse Specialist MSN & DNP
Mary.Sole@ucf.edu
407-823-5496
Office: UTWR 319 (UCF, Research Park)
View faculty profile
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Improving outcomes during critical illness, including airway management and preventing infection; Assessment and application of simulation / technology and physiological monitoring in the clinical and classroom setting.

T
Dr. Steve Talbert

Steven Talbert, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
Steven.Talbert@ucf.edu
407-823-2888
Office: UTWR 488 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Trauma, emergency and transport services, and clinical decision support, particularly the use of computer-assisted trauma triage and informational/system support for nurses making time-critical decisions.

Ms. Dawn Turnage

Dawn Turnage, MSN, RN-BC
Instructor
Dawn.Turnage@ucf.edu
Tel: 407-404-6153
Fax: 407-404-6210
Office: SSC, Altamonte campus, A426E

U

No "U" listing

V

No "V" listing

W
photo unavailable

Josie A. Weiss, PhD, PNP-BC, FNP-BC, FAANP
Associate Professor
Josie.Weiss@ucf.edu
407-823-2198
Office: UTWR 454 (UCF, Research Park)

Dr. Greg Welch

Gregory F. Welch, PhD
Florida Hospital Endowed Chair
in Healthcare Simulation, College of Nursing
Joint research appointments:
Computer Science Division, EECS
Institute for Simulation & Training (IST)

welch@ucf.edu
407-796-2823
Offices: UTWR 432 & 613 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Virtual and augmented reality; human tracking systems; and human surrogates for training and telepresence.

photo unavailable

Suzanne Winchoba, MSN, RN
Instructor
Suzanne.Winchoba@ucf.edu
407-582-1648
Office: UCF Valencia West (Bldg. 3, Room 121)

Dr. Diane Wink

Diane M. Wink, EdD, ARNP, FNP-BC, FAANP
Hugh F. and Jeannette G. McKean Endowed Chair;
Professor;
Coordinator, Nurse Educator MSN

Diane.Wink@ucf.edu
407-823-5440
Office: UTWR 473 (UCF, Research Park)
Download full curriculum vitae

Interests: Chronic illness; Clinical teaching; Outcomes in primary care; Use of electronic health records.

X

No "X" listing

Y

No "Y" listing

Z

No "Z" listing

 

image

image

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

EYE ON LAKE NONA
University Tower at Central Florida Research Park will serve as the College of Nursing’s home until funds are raised for a new Nursing Education building at the Health Sciences Campus at Lake Nona. The University of Central Florida and the College of Nursing remain committed to this goal.